Hallam Borough

The people who make the town great!



Borough Council

The Council is the governing body of the Borough. They are responsible for enacting a budget, adopting ordinances, personnel related matters and more. Meetings are held the second Monday and the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm at the municipal office.Council members are elected to 4 year terms. Council members are:

President - William Fitzpatrick
Vice President - Harry "Chip" Smith
Melody J. D. Stine
Kim Krotzer

Cindy Knox
Matt Flinchbaugh
Crystal Weston

You may contact council by e-mail at

The Mayor

The mayor, an elected position, serves a four year term. The mayor serves as the liason between Council and the Hellam Township Police Department. He votes in Council meetings when there are tie votes. Mayors are also authorized to perform weddings. You may contact the mayor, Glenn P. Wascovich, via email at



From bridges to streets to storm sewers, C.S. Davidson has assisted Hallam Borough with municipal engineering needs since 1964. Services include civil engineering design, structural engineering design, project management, construction inspection, materials testing, and surveying services.
C. S. Davidson assists the Borough with technical issues and maintenance of its infrastructure.  Derek Rinaldo currently serves as the Client Representative at Council meetings. A native of Pennsylvania, Derek was born and raised in Minersville Borough, Schuylkill County. After graduating from Pennsylvania College of Technology, Derek started his career with C. S. Davidson. Derek, his wife, his golden retriever Lexi and his 2 young daughters are all Eagles, Phillies and Penn State fans. In addition to his work with C. S. Davidson, Derek is a board member of the Watershed Alliance of York.

The team at C.S. Davidson has been proud to serve Hallam Borough for the past 50 years, and looks forward to the changes and challenges associated with the next 50 years!



CGA Law Firm


Planning Commission

The Planning Commission advises Council on subdivision and Land development plans and also comments on other issues such as land use ordinance changes. The 5 members are each appointed by Borough Council to a 4 year term. They meet at 7 pm on the first Monday of the month when needed at the Borough office. The members are:

Alan Poff, chairman
Richard Robison
James Bell

Josh Smith
James Hamrick
recording secretary, Sherry Myers

Zoning Hearing Board

The Zoning Hearing Board, composed of three members and an alternate, approves relief from the requirements of the Zoning Ordinance in the form of special exceptions and variances. They also hear appeals from decisions of the Zoning Officer. Current members are Heather Bitner, Betty Bell and Trudy Metzel. There is an open seat for an alternate member.

Eastern York County Sewer Authority

The Authority provides public sewer service to almost all the Borough and the more developed areas of Hellam Township. Three residents from the Township and three from the Borough make up the Authority Board. They meet the fourth Monday of each month in the Hellam Township Municipal Building at 7:30 pm. Chastity Polonikas serves as the executive secretary. You may contact her by email here or by phone at 252-2797 during the hours of 9 am until noon, Monday through Friday. The Authority members are as follows:

Barry Miller, chairman
Gary Dube, vice chairman
Dean Mackley, treasurer

Howard Gromling, assistant treasurer
Carl Newcomer, Jr., secretary
Robert L.Schlosser, assistant secretary


The auditors are elected. The auditors conduct the annual audit of borough finances. The current auditors are Ed Akehurst, Brenda Lauer and Michael Feight.

Tax Collector

The tax collector is an elected position in the Borough. Sharon Dupler is the current tax collector. She receives tax payments and provides the additional services a tax collector provides at the borough office Wednesdays from11 a.m. until 1 p.m. You may contact her via email at or by telephone at (717)755-0810.

Office Staff

Sharon Dupler, Borough Secretary
Sherry Myers, Zoning Officer and Treasurer

Public Works Crew

Phil Smith
Carl Newcomer
Howie Gromling
Barry Miller

School Crossing Guards

Linda Stillinger
Rhonda Smeltzer


Here's a photo of the webmaster